Spray A Fire Extinguisher Into My Mouth

Standard

Andrea’s View:  Dave and  I have managed to avoid Siam Square in Fountain Square for a number of years now.  I’ve put off going to this restaurant based on the opinion of two people.  One of whom I trust, the other I don’t.  The one I don’t trust believes that this is the best restaurant, let alone the best Thai restaurant, in the city.  The one I do trust, when I asked her about Siam Square, responded with, “Well, people like it.”  Now that I have been there for myself, I’m still not sure about it.

Let me start off by saying that my food was fabulous.  The service was fabulous.  The décor is fabulous.  But, it just felt a little too perfect.  The food was perfectly plated, the servers were perfectly hipster without being intimidating, college students with perfect timing and manners.  The décor was thought out to the perfect size and placement of the Thai inspired knickknacks and wall art.  There are no chopsticks on the table, just American silverware.   I just like my food adventures to be a little less than perfect.

Along with the curry puffs, (I’m sure Dave will tell you about the perfect curry puffs, so I won’t repeat) I ordered the pad ped.  This was a chicken dish with red curry and coconut milk, eggplant, bamboo and green beans served with steamed rice.  I ordered mine medium, just as I always do in a Thai restaurant.  My vegetables were perfectly crispy yet tender, the chicken was moist and bite sized, and here is one imperfect fact.  I don’t think that the medium is really medium.  It was just a tad too spicy.  And I like spicy, but this wasn’t the “I’m feeling a little warm and my lips are slightly swollen kind of spicy.”  This was the my nose is running and my eyes are watering kind of spicy.  So maybe Siam Square is just a little less than perfect, not just in they way that I wanted it to be.

 

Dave’s View:  So Andrea and I ventured into Fountain Square to try out Siam Square, known for their Thai Cuisine.  At first glance, you may think the place is a bit small with its narrow length of the building,  but it holds a fair amount of people, plus I believe there is a second level to the restaurant.  The walls are decorated with typical travel pictures of Thailand and a nice combination of orange, red, and yellow paint.   Another added feature is the glass block window which adds to privacy, but really lets in the light.  Andrea and I went on a weekday afternoon and a forewarning, the place gets packed with downtown business people, probably from Eli Lily which is down the street.

For lunch I had the Drunken Noodles( Pad Kee Mao)  which came with a spring roll and a small cup of Thom Yum.  The spring roll was a typical spring roll which was a tad bit over cooked, but pleasant.  The Thom Yum was spicy liquidity with tomatoes, and I wish I had ordered a bigger bowl, because quite honest, it was delicious.  Also, the Drunken Noodles dish scores high marks.  Wide one inch noodles(sometimes, just torn), surrounded with basil, green beans, tomatoes, peppers, onions, egg, and I believe, what looked like bok choy.  This meal was amazing.  It is by far the best Thai dish I’ve had here in Indianapolis.  Now, I ordered mine hot and believe me, the restaurant doesn’t hold back on the “heatness”.  If you normally order Thai food hot, you may want to order it medium, because mine certainly tasted like Thai hot.  Not that it overwhelmed the dish either.  You can properly taste all the ingredients, but still have that red flushed, sweaty look on your face while you’re eating it.  Order a couple of Sun King Cream Ales and you’re set!  I need to thank Andrea for ordering the appetizer, Curry Puffs.  It was a reliever from the spicy pain when the Sun King lost its power.  The green curry potato puff was not at all spicy and complimented the whole meal in itself.  The potato helps to cancel out some of the heat from the Drunken Noodles.  Soft and chewy, you’ll be popping these puffs quickly.  So here’s the equation:  Curry Puffs + Two Sun King Cream Ales + Hot Drunken Noodles=One Good Time!

Service:  8.5  Food:  9.5  Ambiance:  8  Total:  26 out of 30

$40-$50 with adult beverages.

Siam Square on Urbanspoon

Siam Square on Foodio54

Leave a Reply

