The Menu Lied To Us

Standard

Dave’s View:  From the actual menu of Michelangelo’s Italian Bistro:  “Herb and breadcrumb crusted chicken breast sautéed in olive oil, topped with Marsala wine sauce, provolone and mozzarella cheeses. Served with garlic mashed potatoes and steamed vegetables.”  I hate when menus lie.

Chicken Marsala

Chicken Marsala

You see what I mean?  The Chicken Marsala I’ve had in other restaurants didn’t look like this.  Where is the sauce?  Yes, there was a breaded piece of chicken and yes, there was a huge helping of cheese placed onto the chicken, but what is it?  It’s definitely not Chicken Marsala.  It’s more like a chicken cheese sandwich without the bun.  The wine sauce was nonexistent.  The overload of cheese on top of a dry chicken patty does not make for a great meal.  Once you peeled back the cheese, there was approximately 1-1.5 ounces of some type of sauce.   I don’t think it was wine sauce or maybe it was wine at one point, but was so reduced down, it turned into paste.  So now you have an overloaded cheese, pasty, chicken concoction.  What did I think about this meal?  Let’s just say that I ate all of my vegetables on the plate.  The only saving grace of the whole meal.

At the beginning of this lunch, we were also given a bowl of Minestrone soup.  Again, the menu lied to us.  The Minestrone soup I’ve had at many restaurants in the past have had pasta in them.  I didn’t see one bit of pasta in this soup.  This soup is like a thick tomato soup with beans and vegetables in it.  Now, it wasn’t a horrible soup, in fact, it was quite tasty, but can you call it Minestrone?  I know there are many different versions of Minestrone soup out there, but this soup is taking liberties it shouldn’t be.

The place inside definitely needs to be updated.  It is stuck in the late 80’s or early 90’s.  Black vinyl tablecloths, while sitting on embroidered seat backs that my late Grandmother made in 1989 doesn’t strike me as an Italian bistro.  Follow that up with wine racks with no wine in them???  That’s because they probably ran out making all that Marsala wine sauce for my meal.

Food:  3  Service:  9  Ambiance:  5  Total:  17 out of 30

$35-$45 without adult beverages.

They do serve adult beverages.  I should have had one.

The outside

The outside

Minestrone Soup

Minestrone Soup

Sun-dried Tomato Ravioli

Sun-dried Tomato Ravioli

Andrea’s View:  I love tomatoes.  I love tomato sauce.  I love all things smothered in tomatoes or tomato sauce.  So when I have a chance to eat sun-dried tomato ravioli topped with marinara sauce, I’m there.  I thought that I was in for a tomatoey treat when we visited Michelangelo’s in Noblesville.

But let’s start at the beginning.  The outside of the restaurant is charming with its red exterior and patio seating area.  The inside is a little “Denny’s-esque” with its dated booths and overhead lighting.

The inside

The inside

Our overly perky server (think Ned Flanders’s love child) took our drink orders.  I ordered water and she responded, “Sounds great!!!”  Okay, at least she’s passionate about her job.  Dave and I ordered our entrees, the before mentioned sun-dried tomato ravioli with marinara, and we both chose minestrone to go with our meal.  The minestrone was outstanding.  It was tomato based (Whoop Whoop) with lots of veggies and beans and no pasta filler.  I ate the whole bowl and used my bread sticks to soak up every drop.  Now I am excited.  More tomato goodness to come.

My plate arrives with gallons of marinara sauce  and what I assumed were ravioli peeking out from underneath.  They were indeed ravioli, but they were just cheese ravioli.  Not a sun-dried tomato in the bunch.  Oh well, at least there was plenty of chunky marinara on top.  And it was decent.  It had a ton of garlic and some red pepper for a little kick.  Luckily, Michelangelo’s serves unlimited bread sticks so I could eat my gallon of marinara.

Michaelangelo's Italian Bistro on Urbanspoon

2 responses »

  1. I grew up down the street from here. It actually used to be a Clancys hamburgers until the mid 90s when the owner of both locations in Noblesville decided to turn this one into this genre. At first the food was very good but it has only gone downhill.

Leave a Reply

