Left Paw Or Right Paw? It’s Right Paw!

Standard

Andrea’s View:  I’m probably going to have to go back to E. Miracle on Allisonville Road for lunch sometime.  I can’t really say that I remember anything about eating there with Dave or if my memories of eating there are accurate.  When Dave and I went on this food adventure, I was in the beginning stages of the flu.  Not the stomach variety, the high fever, muscle aches like you had been run over repeatedly by a semi and then drawn and quartered, and coughing like your lungs are staging a coup against the rest of your body flu.  I remember that I ate some sort of chicken with noodles and vegetable dish that was served up with all the requisite Korean side dishes such as kimchi, pickled cabbage, and sprouts to name a few.  I don’t remember eating any of those, (I may have), but I didn’t have much appetite.  I remember that the bar area was beautifully decorated and that I had a conversation with the owner about the waving kitty figurine on the bar.  It was something about prosperity and luck for your household.  I did say to Dave that I would like a waving kitty figurine for our house, and that’s when the waving kitty winked at me and said, “Somehow I will find my way to your house, you need not purchase me.”  Yeah, that was probably the fever talking.  Anyway, what I am trying to say, is that this seems like a perfectly wonderful establishment with authentic Korean food and a super nice owner.  And I don’t think that is the fever talking.

The spread

The spread

The ceiling

The ceiling

The bar

The bar

Yakki Udon

Yakki Udon

Miso Soup

Miso Soup

The inside

The inside

Asahi Beer

Asahi Beer

Dave’s View:  There is a sense of shyness in this restaurant that almost makes your feel embarrassed to walk inside this place.  Even the outside shows shyness or lack of funds.  It’s probably both.  What am I talking about?  Here is one  picture from the outside:

The blank wall

The blank wall

This is what people see when they travel on Allisonville Road.  A blank white facade!  The owner needs to place something on this white facade in order to drum up business.  The place looks like it’s closed from the road.  Now you could look on the corner of the building, you’ll see a sushi neon sign, but it doesn’t have the restaurant name attached to it.  The main entrance is towards the center of the shopping strip where you will find the name E. Miracle in neon above the door.

The main entrance

The main entrance

The inside of the place has the same problem.  The restaurant is fairly large, but there is really only one area that is decorated.  That is the bar area.  I’m thinking the owner is behind has bar most of the time hence the reason why it’s decorated nicely.  Beyond that, the restaurant is dead.  Plain tables with some indoor potted plants.  Again, maybe it’s the lack of funds or just plain shyness.  The kitty on the bar told us it was funds:

The Kitty

The Kitty

How did we know this?   Our server told us. If the right paw is up, the restaurant needs to be profitable.  If the left paw was up, that would mean, “Welcome to our home.”  The service here is very friendly and you can completely ask the most ignorant questions and they will answer them honestly and respectfully without making you feel like an ass.  I mean, come on, would you ask what the kitty symbolized?

Now to the food:  I started out with some Miso Soup.  The Miso Soup had the yellow broth instead of red and the taste of the onions popped out of this soup.  For my main entrée I had the Tonkatsu dish.  The pork was nice and crispy, but lacked any homemade preparedness.  In another sense, it was made by a machine.  The restaurant cut it up, placed some sauce on it, scooped some rice and placed it on a plate.

Tonkatsu

Tonkatsu

Now was this a horrible meal?  No not really, but I was expecting more.  I was expecting the kitty to raise its left paw and say, “Meow, come on in, I’ll serve you something fantastic, meow.”

And that right paw we were talking about?  We would never see it again!

Ambiance:  7  Food:  6  Service:  9.5  Total:  22.5 out of 30

$30-$40 with adult beverages

E. Miracle on Urbanspoon

E. Miracle on Foodio54

Leave a Reply

