The Separation of Wing And Waffle

Standard

Dave’s View:  So here I am looking at a waffle and three chicken wings.  What will it taste like?  Will the wings have some type of Southern spice to them that counteracts with the waffle?  Will the waffle do a sweet dance on my tongue?  Will the waffle and chicken wings be married until death parts them?  Sadly and quickly, like out of nowhere,  the two divorced at Maxine’s Chicken & Waffles in downtown Indianapolis.

They were such good food items when they were by themselves.  The wings had a nice crispy outer shell to them, but lacked any special ingredient.  The waffle was  fluffy and buttery, but couldn’t deal with the wings.  Why didn’t it work out?  Everybody states they make a good couple.  I can see what people see in them, but really, you’re having wings with waffles.  Pretty straight forward.  There isn’t going to be some winged waffle with a fairy wand sprinkling magical dust on your meal that will all of sudden spring your taste buds into the ultimate mouth orgasm.  You’re having chicken wings and waffles?  Combining them doesn’t make them special.  Now, I’m probably in the minority here because there were plenty of people eating wings and waffles like it was their last day on Earth.  (And no, we didn’t visit on December 21st.)   I saw one patron who literally sucked off every ounce of meat and skin off of one chicken wing.  Cartilage and everything!  Then piled in heaping slices of waffle into his mouth, so I think Maxine has a niche here, but you try them for yourself and let me know what you think.

If you have a business that is lacking customer focus though, you need to take them to the two Soul food establishments in Indianapolis.  This being one and the other being Kountry Kitchen.  The reason being is that they treat everybody with unconditional love.

My God,  is everybody on the happy pill, here?  You’ll be looking at yourself in the mirror the next day asking yourself, “I’m really good person…..right?”  That’s how exceptional the service is here.  You thought you were being nice and everything to people in your life.  You’re not, you go to any of the two Soul restaurants in this city and they will take your “what you think” is positive energy and multiply it by ten.  Your brain won’t be able to handle it and the next you’ll feel guilty because you didn’t solve world hunger.

The inside of the place, don’t expect too much.  I tried to take pictures, but the place was packed.  Any time you see weird and freaky pictures from me, you can probably take that as a sign that the place was full.  Basic four walls with some interesting art work.  That is all I can say about the place.

Ambiance:  6  Food:  7  Service:  9.75  Total:  22.75 out of 30

$20-$30 without adult beverages.  They do not serve adult beverages.

Andrea’s View:  Confession time.  Dave and I ate here over two weeks ago, and I am still struggling with what to write.  I am still searching for the “amusing angle”.  I was really looking forward to eating here, but I was a tad nervous as well.  Not nervous for Dave and myself, but we were meeting my parents and two dear family friends.  I was nervous about their reaction to this restaurant.  Hey, they wanted a food adventure, and we tried to deliver.  Before going to Maxine’s, I was not aware that it was attached to a gas station in downtown Indy. That’s kind of adventurous.  My parents and our friends arrived at the restaurant before Dave and I.  That’s pretty adventurous on their part.  The fact that they trusted Dave and I enough to walk into a restaurant attached to a gas station in downtown Indy is quite amazing.  And they all ended up really liking the place.

I can’t say that I didn’t like Maxine’s.  Everyone there is over the top nice and welcoming.  There is also a very diverse crowd at Maxine’s, and I always find a diverse crowd charming.  The food was good.  I had tilapia and grits.  I had never had grits before, and I probably won’t again.  Not that they weren’t cooked to perfection, I just don’t think I like grits.  What was missing was the “we are going to feed you Southern food till you pop” attitude that Kountry Kitchen possesses.  I did not see anywhere on the menu the option for Southern favorites such as macaroni and cheese, collard greens, mashed potatoes and the like.  My dad did manage to procure some black-eyed peas, (I’m not sure how) and I jealously eyed them the entire meal.  I even asked, “Hey Dad, how are those black-eyed peas?”  He said, “Pretty tasty.”  He didn’t even offer a bite, so they must have been golden.

Hey, I like the staff at Maxine’s.  I like the quirkiness of it being part of a gas station.  But I didn’t leave feeling like I had been in the home of my  African American aunt’s house.  (I don’t have an African American aunt)  Maxine’s is good, but if you want to feel like you are part of a community, there are better Southern food places in the city.  And the reason I love ethnic food so much is that when it’s done right, they make you feel like you are part of their community, if only for an hour.

Maxine's Chicken and Waffles on Urbanspoon

Maxines Chicken & Waffel on Foodio54

4 responses »

  1. I LUV Maxine’s, and no, it sure ain’t the am-bi-ance! Get you some smothered (with GRAVY! baby!) fried chicken breast over taters or rice – UM-um! And your daddy found the sides listed on the menu – you sure can get collard greens, mac n’ cheese, GOOD green beans with the ham and onion bits & a slice of tomato on top or even fried green tomatoes (if you like that sort of thing) – just ask, child, they’d be happy to help you find bliss! I used to work near there and had lunch at least once a week with glee. A bigger workout the next day, sure, but hey, you only live one time, and if you do it right, that should be enough. Treat yourself and explore this little gem a bit further. I haven’t myself have gotten to the chicken wing & waffle dish as I don’t care for wings, but the peach butter on a waffle is also very nice. And I do love grits -in the south they make a shrimp and grit dish you would find heavenly…. I’ll have to let Maxine’s crew know I’d like it – I bet they’d do a good rendition. But I digress = Good food made with love albeit at an unusual location.

  2. lol Well, I *did* go on a bit but I like (obviously!) those folks’ ones… to make up for it I’ll impart another, healthier, tip: if you two eat sushi go check out Tian Fu’s @ 86th & Michigan, they took over space formerly held by a different sushi restaurant and redesigned it. They’re still in the ‘opening’ stage so not everything is perfect but the sushi & sashimi we’ve tried have been spectacular & a great value: try the Pink Lady & the Love rolls. Love your reviews – best to you both in the new year!

Leave a Reply

