When The Thing You Were Looking For Was Right In Your Backyard

Standard

Dave’s View:  You drive by it all the time.  At least twice a day when you go to work.  That restaurant that doesn’t peak your interest, but when you get around to it, you’ll give try it.

Eventually.

Maybe.

Never.

Reverse your thinking.  You’re not on this Earth that long.  Sometimes the fantastic restaurant you were looking for is just around the corner.

I had a weak impression of the Thai restaurants in Indianapolis and Thai Kitchen on Allisonville in Fishers, Indiana has awaken me to my errors.  Not all Thai restaurants are created equal, they are not “cookie-cutter” restaurants  I’ve seen time and time again in Indianapolis.  The Phoenix has risen and Thai Kitchen has taken the top position.  It was there all the time.  I don’t know how I could have missed it.  This restaurant is quite marvelous.  The best Thai I’ve had in Central Indiana so far.  Don’t think so?  Then e-mail me and let me know why?   Can it be knocked off it pedestal?  Maybe, but it will be a long time coming.  This is true authentic Thai cuisine.

The restaurant is small, but impressive.  The outside being one step up from the competition.  Nice burgundy seats with a water fountain followed with slow jazz over the outdoor speakers.  A relaxing atmosphere to go with some excellent food.

Pad Kratiem(Tiger Garlic and Pepper) is what I ordered.  It’s chicken meat stir-fried with cabbage and green onions.  It has a garlic/pepper sauce that is added and the sauce is what kicks it up a notch.  I ordered this dish hot, not Thai hot, just hot and trust me, hot was plenty and perfect at the same time.  The cabbage is sliced to include both the heart and soft outer leaves.  The spicy crunch of the cabbage with the sautéed chicken and onions is a dish to remember.  You will not stop eating this dish and trust by the end of the night it will come back to you three-fold.  I’m talking about three to four hours after you’ve eaten it.  Spicy going in, spicy going out,  if you know what I mean.  If  you don’t have the intestinal fortitude (yeah this is an old wrestling term meaning “guts”.  Why not just say “guts”, Dave?  Save us all the trouble.  I like seven syllable words okay), order the mild Pad Kratiem. It will suit you fine and relax your inner feelings.

So I know most of us have a job that we go to and from everyday.  Tomorrow I want you to look around carefully.  I don’t want you to rear end the car in front of you, I need you to carefully look around your surroundings.  Look at the restaurants you pass by each and every day and ask yourself, “Wow, I pass that restaurant all the time.  I would like to try it some day, but I don’t have the courage.”  Today is a new day and tomorrow may not come, pull over and take the adventure right now.  You’ll thank yourself in the future and if it’s a bad restaurant, try the next one right down the street.  Positive Karma will eventually be on your side.

Service:  9  Food:  9  Ambiance:  9   Total:  27 out of 30

$40-$50 with adult beverages.  I would recommend reservations if you are going for dinner due to the size of the restaurant.

Andrea’s View:  Due to an overscheduled weekend, Dave and I needed to find a food adventure that was close by.  I tried to tell Dave that we had exhausted all the ethnic food restaurants on our side of town, but Dave insisted that there had to be one more.  It was then that I said, “There’s that Thai place on Allisonville Road.”  Dave gave me “that look” and said, “I just better not end up ordering the same Thai dish I’ve had before.”  So off to Thai Kitchen we went.

When we pulled into the parking lot, we noticed that they had a patio.  I asked Dave, “Do you want to sit outside?”  He replied, “It’s up to you.”  Although the dining area is cozy and well-appointed, I quickly asked if we could have a table outside.  We were led through the dining room out to the most charming patio in the city.  The patio furniture was comfortable and even matched the decor inside.  There was a fountain bubbling in the middle of the patio with ginormous pots of plants strategically placed to block your view of the parking lot.  A small potted plant was placed at each table, and soft jazz music was playing through a speaker system.  There was also the most luscious and delicate breeze blowing through the patio, but I can’t give Thai Kitchen the credit for that, that was all Mother Nature.

The wine list is quite impressive, and they have a nice variety of Asian beers.  The food menu is enormous, so take your time perusing it.  The wait staff doesn’t mind.  In fact, these are some of the nicest and most professional servers we have encountered on our adventures.  I finally settled on the pottery shrimp.  It was a last-minute decision.

After ordering, as we sat back and sipped our drinks, I found myself smiling for no reason.  I said to Dave, “I don’t even care if the food is any good, I am so enjoying this atmosphere and this glass of wine.  The food will be secondary.”

Our food arrived, and I was told by the server to be carefull, my dish was very hot to the touch.  Yes it was, but not because it had been microwaved, but because my food was being served in the very same clay pot that it was prepared in.  My pottery shrimp consisted of shrimp, carrots, celery, cabbage, and silver noodles.  Silver noodles are very thin rice noodles.  I asked for my dish to be spiced medium, and the level of spice was perfect.  I needn’t worry about the food being secondary.  The food was outstanding.

Dave and I lingered on that patio with a second drink for quite some time afterward, not even caring about our overscheduled weekend.  I guess you could say that we got lost in our own backyard.

Thai Kitchen Restaurant on Urbanspoon

Thai Kitchen Restaurant on Foodio54

4 responses »

Leave a Reply

