Purell Approved and Hemorrhoids

Standard

Andrea’s View:  For my birthday, Dave took me to Abyssinia Ethiopian Cafe.  The moment we entered I said to Dave, “This is going to be good.”  The smell of the cooking food was amazing.  We ordered an empanada type appetizer that was stuffed with lentils.   Very good.  We both ordered vegetarian entrees which were brought out on one big platter. We took this as a good sign as  Dave and I like family style dining, that way we can both sample each other’s dishes.  Along with the  food, we were given a big plate of spongy brown bread rolled up like spa towels.  It was then when I realized why there were economy sized hand sanitizer dispensers on every table.  The bread was our utensil.  Fantastic, I’m up for bread as a fork, this is a food adventure!  Only problem, I didn’t care for the taste or the texture of the bread.  It felt and tasted like it had been soaking in vinegar so that flavor mingled with the other flavors of our food.  We ended up taking a good portion of the food home in a to-go bag.  I took some of the bread to be polite, but threw it out when I got home.  The next night, I ate the leftovers with a fork and it was quite delicious.

Dave’s View:  I’ve been to an Ethiopian restaurant before, but it has been years, so I’d forgotten to tell Andrea, that hey, you eat with your hands.

Let me explain this in detail:  We order.  The order comes out looking like a pizza with four huge splotches of food.  Sort of look like an artist palette.  Beside this huge supply of food is rolled steamed towels.  Wait, they’re not towels, it’s injera bread.  It’s a spongy like bread that can soak up sauces and whatever you can pick up with it.  This is your utensil/food. 

Andrea stood there looking at the food.  “Where’s the utensils?” 

“It’s those towels”, I said. This is Andrea’s true meaning of the food adventure and in Oprah’s language, “The Oh Shit moment.”

We had four vegetarian items.  One was slightly spicy, one had chunks of potatoes, one was corn-based, and the last was a green vegetable.  You might asked, why don’t you say the names, Dave?

I can’t.  I went to get the correct names on their website and it’s suspended.  Sorry my research is lacking. 

The food overall is earthy and the bread was quite tasty.  The service was slow, but efficient.  The decor is slightly dark, but authentic.

So where does hemorrhoids come into play here?  After hearing Andrea complain about the injera bread over and over and over again.  I was thinking halfway through the meal, should I say I have a bad case of hemorrhoids?  You do the thinking here. 

The tally:  Food 8, Service 7, Ambiance 8.  Total 23 out of 30.

Go to this restaurant, so they can afford their website!

Abyssinia Ethiopian on Urbanspoon

Abyssinia Ethiopian Restaurant on Foodio54

Leave a Reply

